Inspired by The Bootlace Magician by Cassie Beasley

The long-awaited sequel to Circus Mirandus is finally here and I couldn’t be more excited!

As soon as I finished the first book I instantly started looking forward to The Bootlace Magician. These books are magical and the entire cast of characters feels so authentic. It isn’t a series I would have normally been drawn to but I’m so thankful I decided to give it a chance!

A couple of weeks ago I shared an aesthetic I made for Circus Mirandus and this week I thought I would share some of my favorite magical creatures to celebrate The Bootlace Magician.

I was heavily inspired by the beautiful cover. The way the rainbow of colors radiates from the dragon is stunning and I started thinking about other magical creatures. There are so many incredible ones that people have thought of over the years and I’m a little sad that some of them aren’t real.

Unicorn – Honestly, who wouldn’t want to see one of these beautiful creatures? To me they are the epitome of magic.

Centaur – These guys are kind of creepy in theory but Mr. Tumnus completely stole my heart.

Dragon – I’ll always be a sucker for dragons and I definitely blame my obsession with Dragon Tales when I was younger.

Loch Ness Monster – NESSIE MY BABY! I really shouldn’t even be including her on this list since she is 100% real. Don’t even try to change my mind because it isn’t happening.

Gnome – These cute little guys! In Harry Potter they’re small creatures with heads that look like potatoes on small stubby bodies and honestly same.

Mermaid – Ariel didn’t know how good she had it under the sea and I’d like to take her place. Girls, never trade your voice for a man. Just don’t do it.

Platypus – Okay, yes, I know these are technically real but HOW. Like what is even going on with them?! They’re a combination of like six different animals, they lay eggs but are mammals, and they don’t have teeth so they carry gravel around in their mouths to chew their food. Even though they are venomous I’d love to meet one someday and I won’t truly believe they exist until I do.

Micah Tuttle–magician in training–lives and works at Circus Mirandus alongside his guardian, the ancient and powerful Lightbender.

The circus is a place filled with dazzling fire shows, stubborn unicorns, and magicians from every corner of the world. And Micah is doing everything he can to prove he belongs there. When a dangerous enemy from the past threatens his new home, Micah will have to untangle the mystery of his own potent magic, and he’ll have to do it fast. With trouble this deadly on its way, every magician will have to be ready to fight. Even the youngest.

Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound

What is your favorite magical creature? Let me know in the comments!

A physical copy was provided by the publisher in exchange for a promotion post expressing my honest opinions.

4 thoughts on “Inspired by The Bootlace Magician by Cassie Beasley”

  1. Hi. I love this post. I’ve had this sitting in my tabs for a couple days now because I am over here highkey stressing over what my favorite mythical is. I think the right answer might just be ‘ALL.’

    The inclusion of semi-aquatic, egg-laying mammls (of action) on your list makes me happy. Animals that don’t look like they should be real or have really absurd characteristics (wombat poop, anyone?) absolutely make my day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was honestly so hard to stop myself from continuing to list creatures because YES. They’re just all so different and incredible in their own way. I’m so glad you loved this post – it was a lot of fun to do!

      OMG I actually almost used a picture of Perry but I was worried about copyright laws. I 100% appreciate your reference though!

      Like

Leave a comment